Fast Food Traveling

If you’re anything like me, you’ve been eating salads the whole week to get started on a 5-month long diet and exercise plan. I haven’t quite had the inspiration to hit the gym yet, but at least I’m eating greens and staying away from my favorites like french fries and onion rings.

Since I’ve been a good, disciplined little girl, why not use this weekend trip home as an excuse to live a little? Let me tell you, the first thing in my sight was a Dunkin Donuts and I immediately felt an uncanny desire for a chocolate glazed. Before I got myself in trouble, I walked away to the convenience store to get a bottle of water. Somehow the mountains of potato chip bags don’t distract me, but a bag of mini Oreos catches my eye. There’s just not a whole lot of options out there for the starving “really-need-to-lose-10-pounds” kind of traveler!

Behold, out of the corner of my eye I catch sight of a bag of swedish fish. Thank goodness! A snack I won’t feel guilty about… And I give myself a pat on the back for narrowly avoiding my first hurdle.

Seated comfortably, I’ve delicately stuffed half the bag of swedish fish in my mouth – feeling pleased with myself but still wishing I had the donut anyway – when I spy the nutrition label… 30 grams of sugar in 7 pieces!

I’m no expert at reading the labels but something tells me I just negated that salad I had for lunch today. What’s the point in skimping on the calories if you’re hungry enough to eat sugar for dinner?

No use in throwing the rest out. I mean, besides costing me a pretty 2 bucks, mom wouldn’t like it if I wasted food… There are starving children in the world after all.

-Gem

2 thoughts on “Fast Food Traveling

  1. haha beware those greens that look so appealing… I think they’re up to something sinister
    http://forbettergenius.wordpress.com/2011/11/25/silent-killer/

  2. If you’re anything like me, you’ve been having multiple drinks every night for the past 10 days and can’t quite explain why people won’t leave you alone for just oneeee night to sit peacefully in your house without going out haha. this isn’t complaining though.

    ps: just had fast food. maybe i should be a fatass. somehow it hasn’t happened

Leave a Reply

